South Beach Diet

The South Beach Diet is a popular diet used by thousands to lose weight in a healthy environment. The diet was developed by cardiologist Arthur Agatston. Dr. Agatston wanted to prevent heart disease for the people he treated. The diet soon gained popularity and started to spread throughout the nation in 2001.

The premise of the South Beach Diet is to eliminate the bad carbs with good carbs. It also does the same with the fat in the diet eliminating foods with fats that are considered bad and introducing beneficial fats. south beach diet South Beach DietThis diet is different than the Atkins Diet which limits total carbohydrate intake.

The South Beach Diet does limit simple carbs such as potatoes and white bread but doesn’t require the dieters to count carbs. Complex carbs and fiber rich carbs are permitted as long as they are low on the glycemic index value.

Phases of the South Beach Diet

This diet is broken out into three phases with each progressive phase more liberal in the types of foods you may consume. The three phases of the South Beach Diet are listed below.

Phase 1
This phase will last for two weeks and is meant to remove cravings for sugar and refined foods made of starch. This phase will enable you to kick-start your weight loss. In this phase, you will stabilize your glucose or blood sugar levels which will minimize your cravings for food.

The emphasis on this two-week duration is on consuming lots of fiber-rich foods that satisfy your desire for food. Your main meals primarily consist of protein foods including seafood, chicken, and lean cuts of beef. During this phase, you can have 2 small snacks such as nuts or reduced fat cheese.

Phase 2
This is the phase where you concentrate on long term weight loss. Everything that you can eat in Phase 1, you can eat in Phase 2. Additionally, you have good carbs added to the diet. This will allow you to consume food groups including whole-grain breads, vegetables, wheat pasta, brown rice, and fruit.

Phase 3
The last phase of the South Beach Diet is the maintenance phase. Once you have achieved your desired weight in Phase 2, you move to this phase. In this phase of the diet, you can basically eat anything that is allowed in the diet. You just need to apply the principles learned in the first two phases and make adjustments accordingly.

With the South Beach Diet, you will learn about yourself and your body’s metabolism. You will learn what works and what doesn’t work and by doing so, you can maintain a consistent healthy weight.


Home - About Us - Contact Form - Privacy Policy